War of 1812 Bicentennial

Home > History > War of 1812 History: Timeline

War of 1812 History: Timeline

Here is a brief timeline of the War of 1812. Major events from the Napoleonic wars are also given, with the date in italics.

June 18, 1812
The United States declare war on Great Britain.
June 19, 1812
United States president James Madison issues a proclamation declaring that a state of war exists.
June 23, 1812
The British government, not yet aware of the declaration of war, revokes the orders-in-council regarding American ships.
July 17, 1812
British forces capture Fort Michilimackinac.
July 22, 1812
Battle of Salamanca; British victory.
August 15, 1812
Indians allied with the British capture Fort Dearborn (where Chicago, Illinois is now located).
August 16, 1812
American Brigadier General William Hull surrenders Detroit to British Major-General Isaac Brock.
August 19, 1812
The USS Constitution captures the HMS Guerrière.
October 13, 1812
Battle of Queenston Heights; British victory, but British Major-General Isaac Brock is killed.
October 13, 1812
Great Britain issues a declaration of war against the United States.
October 25, 1812
The USS United States captures the HMS Macedonian.
January 22, 1813
Battle of Frenchtown; British victory.
February 22, 1813
British forces capture Ogdensburg, New York.
April 27, 1813
American forces capture York (now Toronto), the capital of Upper Canada. They would sack the town over the next few days.
April 28–May 9, 1813
British unsuccessfully besiege Fort Meigs.
May 3, 1813
British burn Havre de Grace, Maryland.
May 27, 1813
American forces capture Fort George.
May 29, 1813
British attack Sackett's Harbour, but are repulsed.
June 1, 1813
The HMS Shannon captures the USS Chesapeake off Boston harbor.
June 6, 1813
Battle of Stoney Creek; British victory.
June 21, 1813
Battle of Vittoria; British victory.
June 24, 1813
Battle of Beaver Dams; British victory.
August 2, 1813
Battle of Fort Stephenson; American victory.
August 30, 1813
Fort Mims massacre takes place.
September 5, 1813
The USS Enterprize defeats the HMS Boxer off the Maine coast.
September 10, 1813
Battle of Lake Erie; American victory.
October 5, 1813
Battle of the Thames; American victory; death of Tecumseh.
October 26, 1813
Battle of Châteauguay; British victory.
November 11, 1813
Battle of Crysler's Farm; British victory.
December 10, 1813
American troops evacuate Fort George and burn the adjacent town of Newark.
December 19, 1813
British forces capture Fort Niagara; over the next few days, the British would burn the settlements on the American side of the Niagara River.
March 27, 1814
Battle of Horseshoe Bend; American victory over the Creek Indians.
March 30, 1814
Second Battle of Lacolle Mills; British victory.
April 6, 1814
Napoleon abdicates as ruler of France.
May 5–6, 1814
British troops capture Fort Oswego.
May 15, 1814
American raid on Port Dover.
July 3, 1814
American troops capture Fort Erie.
July 5, 1814
Battle of Chippawa; American victory.
July 18, 1814
British capture Eastport.
July 20, 1814
Americans surrender Fort Prairie du Chien.
July 25, 1814
Battle of Lundy's Lane; the result is indecisive; each side sustains nearly 1,000 casualties.
August 4, 1814
Battle of Michilimackinac; British victory.
August 15, 1814
Battle of Fort Erie; American victory.
August 24, 1814
Battle of Bladensburg. The British are victorious, advance to Washington, D.C. and sack the city.
September 11, 1814
Battle of Plattsburg; American victory.
September 12, 1814
Battle of North Point. The British are victorious, but sustain heavy losses and the Americans buy time to defend Baltimore.
September 13–14, 1814
Fort McHenry resists British bombardment, inspiring Francis Scott Key to write The Star-Spangled Banner.
December 24, 1814
The Treaty of Ghent is signed in Ghent, Belgium.
January 8, 1815
Battle of New Orleans; American victory; British suffer 2,000 casualties.
January 15, 1815
British naval forces capture the USS President.
February 11, 1815
British capture Fort Bowyer.